Numbers are truly the focal point of every thriving business. In today’s business world new numbers exist going beyond your annual financial statements, budget plans, and liquidity ratios. Today’s businesses gain incredible insight from internet statistics and some are absolutely more important than others. If you’re a CEO or you’re simply attempting to prove to your CEO that there are certain statistics which lead to proven results once they’ve been figured out, you’re one step closer to the success you want; as well as beating out your competition, because they’re likely to be employing at least some of these statistic computing factors into consideration as well.
The Statistics Telling Whether You’re Earning a Passing Grade
How does your website fair? It’s important to know whether or not your website is earning a passing grade. Hubspot’s website grader gives website owners an opportunity to compare their sites to over 70,000 submissions. It’s an excellent benchmark towards improving your website’s online presence.
Website Traffic Analytics Statistics
Website traffic is another important website statistic. Using custom analytics software or even free website data tracking like Google Analytics provides critical details on the effectiveness of inbound marketing strategies. For example, website traffic analytics can help your company measure the defectiveness of specific search engine optimized content. The results will allow your company to modify and improve SEO strategies.
Numbers of Unique Website Traffic
Website traffic statistics can be more detailed than simply the amount of visits. Companies should make a clear distinction between the number of visits and the number of unique or return visits. Understanding the composition of website traffic helps to determine whether or not your site needs more exposure or whether it’s growing at a steady rate.
Statistics From Link Tracking and More
Perhaps you may want to measure the impact of social media on your website traffic. Using a link tracking software like Budurl can expand your knowledge on responsive posts, regions, and referral sources.
Lead Generation Statistics
Is your website generating leads? One of the first steps to monetizing inbound marketing is lead generation. These website statistics help you understand how many leads you are generating for a specified period, the most responsive segment, click-through rates, bounce rates, and unsubscribe rates. These statistics as a whole help you tailor your lead generation strategies and yield more successful campaigns.
A/B Split Testing Statistics
A/B split testing is commonly known for its use in testing the impact of website design on user interaction. However, you can use A/B split testing to measure other comparable online marketing components like list segmentation, ad copy, and even Fan Page conversion rates.
Online Advertising CPA & ROI Statistics
When considering any online medium of advertising companies should always consider the Cost Per Acquisition (CPA), sometimes referred to as Cost Per Action. Basically, the CPA allows advertisers to determine the cost per conversion or lead. Determining your cost per conversion enables you to measure returns or losses on advertisement campaigns.
Online Advertising CPM & ROI Statistics
Another popular statistic is cost Cost Per Impression (CPM). CPM is basically the cost of a campaign per 1000 impressions. CPM is a less finite in terms of calculating ROI because we are not measuring the action but rather the amount of times the advertisement is viewed. You can determine the CPA from the CPM by measuring the leads per campaign. Say for example your CPM is $1000.00. The campaign yielded 500 leads. In this case the CPA would be $2.00 because every lead cost you two dollars. To determine the ROI you would then factor in the number of hours times the cost per hour less the number of conversions times the net profit of a good/service.
The Statistics Showing the Value of a Fan
Today’s social media market also gives companies an opportunity to explore the CPA of a social media marketing campaign. However, the concept differs slightly from pay per click or pay per impressions. In the case of social media marketing we would consider the differentiation between the CPA of fans/followers/subscribers and those who are not fans/followers/subscribers. While pay per click and pay per impression advertising can be integrated in the calculation other dimensions should also be considered. Other dimensions include distinctions between fans and not fans, cost for social media campaigns, application downloads, content likes and viral exposure, and social influence.
Statistics Showing You Understand the Value of a Follower
This interactive medium provides multidimensional data-sets. For example, according to Virtue, a single Facebook fan for a fan page totaling 1 million fans is valued at over $3.00. In this case, the number of fans per Facebook fan page has a significant impact on fan valuation. The value of a social media fan/follower/subscriber is an important consideration so much so that companies like Phonedog are actually willing to sue a former employee for taking 17,000 Twitter followers. According to The New York Times, the company valued followers at a cost of $2.50 per month per follower.
Variations in website statistics are abundant. However, the above 10 statistic types provide a framework to understanding the capabilities of data and metrics in planning, analysis, and maintenance of your website and once you’ve calculated these important statistics, presented them, and explained what each statistic means and COULD mean to the company, any CEO would definitely be likely to give it all a second look. If you have any questions please feel free to ask!
If website analytics is something you are interested in but are having trouble getting started, contact us today to schedule your free marketing analysis.